Archive for October, 2017

AFA (antifa) Helsingborg: Martin Karlsson tells about its defection from NMR

Defections from the nationalist movement happen regularly. It happens for various reasons and many want to move on with their lives. When we handle contacts with defectors we always do that discreetly. Martin Karlsson however has expressed a wish to tell about its defection from NMR and has also chosen to not be anonymous.

How did you get in contact with Nazism?

I actually started hanging with Nazis already when I was 16 years old. In the beginning because it was a “cool” thing to do, and it felt awesome that people were afraid of me. Then 2008 I was out on the town and and got into a brawl because I was cocky against the wrong guy, the guy also happened to be an immigrant. I got injured from this. During my convalescence after this my interest for Nazism really sped up, and the farther I got into the sphere, the better it felt so to speak. All feelings of guilt and debt for acts I had committed disappeared.

When did you join the Nordic Resistance Movement? And during which period were you active?

I was active for several years as a hangaround kind of but I was a full member between 2014-2016. I officially defected shortly after the demonstration in Borlänge, I had during a longer period worked towards extricating myself. For me it was because of the family, the friends and my girlfriend at the time that was a strongly motivating point for me and then your work of course. You succeeded in getting me to reevaluate my entire worldview. To look at myself through the eyes of others as to speak and I can say that I hated what I saw. Now later I have understood that every step I took inwards I got more and more brainwashed, I lost the respect for everything and everyone, became more heated and changed my kind attitude and will to talk about things to instead go straight for acts of violence.

How did it feel to leave the Nordic Resistance Movement?

The time after I had left, wow. It was first of all an incredibly heavy stone that lifted from my chest, I felt completely free and for the first time in several years I was completely happy. After a while an immense feeling of guilt and straight up shame for what I had spread around me. In this article I really want to convey one thing and that is pardon me for everything I have said and done, for all the hate, vandalism and similar I have done, I was completely brainwashed and did not understand better.

Do you have something you want to tell those that think about defecting?

All you that sit and think about leaving but are afraid of taking the step, just defect there are many many more of those that will help you than those that want to hurt you, don’t be afraid to contact your closest AFA [antifa] group, they will help you with everything from tips and advice to offering counseling from a person that calls and listens and is there when there really is a crisis for you. Today I am open about my defection on social media and I am there for everyone that wants to talk or ask for advice, for both parents and youth that are getting entangled in the Nazi world. And people that want to or has defected and needs to chat with someone to conclude how they shall move forward.

How do you think that one should respond an organization like the Nordic Resistance Movement?

The best way to work against an organization is through being in solidarity in the work against them, to always prosecute them even for trifles, to make life so difficult for them that they eventually turn on each other. To continue exposing them not only online but on large posters around town, simply make it difficult for the Nazis to be Nazis.

Do you participate in the interview voluntarily and without pressure or leverage from us?

Yes I participate of my own free will.

 

We thank Martin Karlsson and refer to https://antifa.se/2017/03/18/afa-helsingborg-angaende-avhopp-fran-den-nationella-rorelsen/ [in Swedish] We work against the organized Fascism long-term and systematically. Contact us if you want advice or help.

AFA [antifa] Helsingborg

 


Translated by b9AcE (https://soc.ialis.me/@b9AcE and https://twitter.com/b9AcE) to the best of my ability, from the original text in Swedish. Any errors are to be presumed mine, not antifa’s.
Where the text mentions contacting them, if you are far from Helsingborg, Sweden… I suggest reading that as contacting your local or closest antifa-group, although I would guess the antifa-groups in Sweden would probably help as far as they are able to as well.

, , ,

No Comments

AFA [antifa] Gothenburg: Wide and popular anti-fascism stopped the Nazis

The Nordic Resistance Movement (NMR) had mobilized vigorously for the demonstration in Gothenburg on their web page and on social media. The hope was that the demonstration would become the largest that NMR had organized, with a hope for over 1000 demonstration participants. In spite of heavy mobilization from the Nazis it became a failure with about 300-400 participants. The Nazis’ demonstration could be stopped thanks to a wide anti-fascism.

Under the slogan “Stop the Nazis 30/9” the city’s anti-fascists have mobilized and distributed propaganda – a result that was seen Saturday, September 30.

Before noon 10000 people gathered at [the large public space] Heden to demonstrate against the Nazis in NMR. The counter-protesters at Heden were characterized by a wide anti-fascism and popular militancy. After the manifestation at Heden ended the police barriers were bypassed – not just by organized anti-fascists – but by a wide crowd of people that did not accept Nazis on the streets of Gothenburg.

NMR started their pre-gathering at [the supermarket] ICA Maxi, bordering to Mölndal locality. From there they took the back route to the Gårda district and at [the supermarket] ICA Focus NMR attempted to break out. The Nazis were kettled by the police, at the same time as thousands of counter-protesters arrived at the location. At the same time as thousands of people surrounded the Nazis at ICA Focus, anti-fascists enacted several successful blockades around Gårda. NMR were surrounded by thousands of people, and after several hours standing at the same spot they went back the same back route they arrived. During the day anti-fascists also performed several successful confrontations against Nazis that had chosen to demonstrate.

The demonstration never reached its planned start- or ending-point. Through a diversity of tactics, community and solidarity thousands of anti-fascists successfully stopped the Nazis from carrying out their demonstration – that is our victory!

We in AFA [antifa] Gothenburg also want to take this opportunity to send a greeting to all anti-fascists that tirelessly worked with the mobilization ahead of the demonstration as well as to all that chose to assemble against the Nazis.

Through community and solidarity we showed our strength.

/Anti-Fascist Action Gothenburg


Translated by b9AcE (https://soc.ialis.me/@b9AcE and https://twitter.com/b9AcE) to the best of my ability, from the original text in Swedish. Any errors are to be presumed mine, not antifa’s.

 

 

, , ,

No Comments